For students, by students.

The GH Falcon

The GH Falcon

The GH Falcon

Cloude Fewkes (‘24) stars during a performance of a recent Green Hope Theatre play, Almost Maine. Photo used with permission from Cloude Fewkes.
Talents of Theater: Cloude Fewkes
Justin Jackson, Staff Writer • March 1, 2024
Davis Drive Park has fields, Greenways and trails.
Gallery: Parks around town
Mason Cline, Staff Writer • February 26, 2024
Game subscription services have been rapidly increasing in popularity, with the largest service, PlayStation Plus Premium, reporting a user count of 47.4 million, leading to many believing that services will be the future of the game industry.
Gaming in the future
Miguel Carrasco Gomez, Staff Writer • February 26, 2024
Pinning down the win: Green Hope womens wrestling
Pinning down the win: Green Hope women's wrestling
Zoe Westerlund and Deepa RameshFebruary 23, 2024
Follow this link to purchase tickets for Green Hope Athletic events
Cloude Fewkes (‘24) stars during a performance of a recent Green Hope Theatre play, Almost Maine. Photo used with permission from Cloude Fewkes.
Talents of Theater: Cloude Fewkes
Justin Jackson, Staff Writer • March 1, 2024
Davis Drive Park has fields, Greenways and trails.
Gallery: Parks around town
Mason Cline, Staff Writer • February 26, 2024
Game subscription services have been rapidly increasing in popularity, with the largest service, PlayStation Plus Premium, reporting a user count of 47.4 million, leading to many believing that services will be the future of the game industry.
Gaming in the future
Miguel Carrasco Gomez, Staff Writer • February 26, 2024
Pinning down the win: Green Hope womens wrestling
Pinning down the win: Green Hope women's wrestling
Zoe Westerlund and Deepa RameshFebruary 23, 2024
Follow this link to purchase tickets for Green Hope Athletic events
Pinning down the win: Green Hope womens wrestling
Pinning down the win: Green Hope women's wrestling
Zoe Westerlund and Deepa RameshFebruary 23, 2024
Follow this link to purchase tickets for Green Hope Athletic events

It’s..time!

It’s Nov. 1, and familiar holiday bells start to ring. The jingle and twinkly tune grows louder as a distinguished voice emerges from the melody. She’s here- Mariah Carey, the queen of Christmas, is defrosting.
Mariah+Carey+averages+around+%242.6+million+from+%E2%80%9CAll+I+Want+for+Christmas+is+You%E2%80%9D+every+holiday+season%2C+and+continues+to+profit+from+her+hit+track.+Holiday+spirit+wouldn%E2%80%99t+be+the+same+without+Carey.
Sam Chu
Mariah Carey averages around $2.6 million from “All I Want for Christmas is You” every holiday season, and continues to profit from her hit track. Holiday spirit wouldn’t be the same without Carey.

Halloween is finally over. This can only signify one thing: Mariah Carey is waking from her hibernation, for her yearly winter appearance, and “All I Want for Christmas is You” will be blasting everywhere until New Years. 

At midnight, on Nov. 1, an iconic “defrost” video was plastered all over Carey’s social media pages. She’s seen locked in a vault, frozen within an ice block, and being thawed out by various Halloween characters. Mariah then emerges with a whistle note, breaking the ice, marking the start of “Mariah Season”.

This is all part of Carey’s now yearly appearance, announcing to the public about her everlasting holiday presence. Mariah Carey is the community-appointed “Queen of Christmas” due to her piece’s enduring popularity since its release.

Mariah Carey’s fans began teasing her early preparation for her upcoming winter ubiquity, dubbing it as a “defrost”. Jokes and buzzwords of Carey “defrosting” is what has inspired her recent social media skits, while also being a method of exposure.

Back in 1994, Carey’s album “ Merry Christmas” starred its anchor track “All I Want for Christmas is You”, mixing the popular R&B production at the time with nostalgic touches. Flashforward 30 years later, and the song is still a modern classic.

“All I Want for Christmas is You” grew its popularity, re-emerging as a holiday hit, in December of 2017, when it climbed Billboard’s Hot 100, and secured top 5 of the charts later in December 2018. Since 2019, the song has risen to the No. 1 spot on charts every holiday season, reigning over the past four years.

To make spirits bright and festive, Mariah Carey is going on her “Merry Christmas One and All!” tour starting Wednesday, Nov. 15, in Highland California, rounding it off in New York on Dec. 17. This tour is longer than her 7-day trip last year, where she sang at four shows around the U.S.

While many fans and festivity enjoyers love the symbol Mariah Carey brings, some argue that November is too early for Christmas joy. In 2021, a bar in Texas forbade their customers to play Carey’s hit track on the jukebox, due to the song being replayed earlier and earlier each year. Though the manager and employees started the disapproval as a joke, the popularity of Mariah Carey’s tune still wins the hearts of everyone’s nostalgia. 

As the spooky season slips away, and colder weather rushes in, the feeling of holiday commotion starts off with Carey’s recognizable “I”. The timeless singer symbolizes the feeling of Christmas with her presence letting us know, “it’s time”.

View Comments (1)
Donate to The GH Falcon
$325
$800
Contributed
Our Goal

The staff of the GHFalcon would love a donation to help the journalism program at Green Hope continue to flourish. Many of our donations go to towards improving the materials that we deliver to you in electronic format. Thank you so much to those that are able to donate.

More to Discover
About the Contributor
Sam Chu, Staff Writer
Sam is a junior at Green Hope and is a first year writer on the staff with a variety of interests. She’s a music fanatic, frequently volunteering to perform at senior homes and can play multiple instruments, her favorite being the piano. Additionally, she’s a leader within Green Hope as a captain on the girl’s golf team and a member of the Student Council. In her free time, she relaxes through games of Valarant and other computer games, or by tapping into her creative side, with drawing and other various forms of art. Sam loves to travel around the world, frequently visiting her mother’s origin island Taiwan, and many other places in Asia. Throughout the year, Sam works at a Boba shop owned by her aunt. In the future, she hopes to major in Psychology at Boston University, commencing her career at a corporate HR position.
Donate to The GH Falcon
$325
$800
Contributed
Our Goal

Comments (1)

All The Green Hope Falcon Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • L

    Leo McDunnNov 3, 2023 at 9:26 am

    I don’t want a lot for Christmas
    There is just one thing I need
    I don’t care about the presents underneath the Christmas tree
    I just want you for my own
    More than you could ever know
    Make my wish come true
    All I want for Christmas is you
    Yeah
    I don’t want a lot for Christmas
    There is just one thing I need (and I)
    Don’t care about the presents underneath the Christmas tree
    I don’t need to hang my stocking there upon the fireplace
    Santa Claus won’t make me happy with a toy on Christmas Day
    I just want you for my own
    More than you could ever know
    Make my wish come true
    All I want for Christmas is you
    You, baby
    Oh, I won’t ask for much this Christmas
    I won’t even wish for snow (and I)
    I’m just gonna keep on waiting underneath the mistletoe
    I won’t make a list and send it to the North Pole for Saint Nick
    I won’t even stay awake to hear those magic reindeer click
    ‘Cause I just want you here tonight
    Holding on to me so tight
    What more can I do?
    Oh, baby, all I want for Christmas is you
    You, baby
    Oh-oh, all the lights are shining so brightly everywhere (so brightly, baby)
    And the sound of children’s laughter fills the air (oh, oh, yeah)
    And everyone is singing (oh, yeah)
    I hear those sleigh bells ringing
    Santa, won’t you bring me the one I really need? (Yeah, oh)
    Won’t you please bring my baby to me?
    Oh, I don’t want a lot for Christmas
    This is all I’m asking for
    I just wanna see my baby standing right outside my door
    Oh, I just want you for my own
    More than you could ever know
    Make my wish come true
    Oh, baby, all I want for Christmas is you
    You, baby
    All I want for Christmas is you, baby
    All I want for Christmas is you, baby
    All I want for Christmas is you, baby
    All I want for Christmas (all I really want) is you, baby
    All I want (I want) for Christmas (all I really want) is you, baby

    Reply